HomeENGLISHOpposition receives huge-defeat in the UP Assembly Deputy Speaker election

Opposition receives huge-defeat in the UP Assembly Deputy Speaker election

Opposition’s nominee SP lost from ruling-BJP supported by a margin of 244 votes

By Kunwar Ashok S Rajput,

Lucknow: On set-lines Samajwadi Party rebel-MLA from Hardoi, Nitin Agrawal was elected the Deputy Speaker of Uttar Pradesh Assembly on Monday, his candidature was backed by the ruling-BJP. Nitin Agarwal beat SP’s Narendra Verma by a margin of 244 votes, while he gained 304 votes in his favor, SP-backed candidate Narendra Verma got 60 out of the 364 valid votes cast.

Yogi Adityanath congratulated Nitin Agrawal on being elected as DS and said he is a member of the largest opposition party. His appointment was in line with the constitution. Beside deputy speaker election, the Uttar Pradesh Assembly in one day special session also paid glowing tributes to former state chief minister Kalyan Singh and recalled his services. Singh also served as Governor of Rajasthan, passed away on August 21 at SGPGI here causing his prolonged-illness.

The opposition BSP and Congress MLAs had reportedly boycotted the election. In spite of Congress boycotting the election for Deputy Speaker of Uttar Pradesh Assembly that was held on Monday rebel party MLA Aditi Singh and Rakesh Singh cast their vote at Vidhan Sabha hall. A special one-day Assembly session called today from 11 am to 1 pm to hold the elections for the deputy speaker’s post, which has remained vacant for 4 years and 7 months.

मुख्यमंत्री योगी ने आखिर किसके लिए बोला-समय ‘सबको’ समझा देता है

After Nitin’s win, UP CM Yogi Adityanath in his address in the state Assembly said that the picture of the 2022 legislative assembly election was now clear, and the BJP will achieve a good result. Nitin Agrawal has been keeping distance with his party since 2019, had filed his nomination papers on Sunday accompanied by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his ministers. Agrawal, whose father Naresh Agrawal joined the BJP before the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, was also supported by a Congress and a BSP MLA. The Assembly Speaker had recently rejected an SP application to disqualify Agrawal from the House, for defying his party whip against attending a special Assembly session in 2019.

After Agrawal’s candidature was backed by ruling BJP, the SP termed the move “undemocratic”, arguing that usually, a legislator from the biggest Opposition party is elected unopposed to the Deputy Speaker post. Refuting this, CM Adityanath said the BJP respected “parliamentary traditions”, and that was why the candidate was chosen from the biggest Opposition party.

CM Yogi Adityanath lambasted the Akhilesh Yadav led Samajwadi Party for being an anti-youth party. The CM said; SP party has internal rifts. It belongs to one family (read Etawah’s Yadav) and for we whole of the state is a family. Adityanath compared Deputy Speaker Agrawal wins with the BJP party in charge of the state and stated that they have always represented the youth and worked towards people’s development. CM Yogi while making these claims also said that his party put in the efforts to establish communication. The CM added that the BJP had also conducted an all-party meet during COVID whereas SP never indulged itself in any such efforts towards managing the challenges brought up by COVID.

Meanwhile, accusing the BJP of using the deputy speaker election to divert attention from the various problems plaguing Uttar Pradesh, the Congress and BSP boycotted the poll. Congress’s leader Aradhna Mishra “Mona” also alleged that both the BJP and SP were involved in a friendly fight and were keen on the election and not on discussing the various raging issues facing the state. Earlier, PWD Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya said we believe that the results would be good. Speaking to the media before the poll process started, senior BJP leader and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Suresh Kumar Khanna said, this election is very important. Samajwadi Party could not elect a candidate for four years and we have reduced their difficulty, now, they should thank us.

With the start of the one-day special session of the Assembly, the House led by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath paid tributes to former CM Kalyan Singh. Passing obituary references, the House also extended condolences to Singh’s family. Assembly speaker HN Dikshit, Leader of Opposition Ram Govind Chaudhary and BSP leader Shah Alam alias Guddu Jamali were among others also paid tributes to Singh.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments